Friday, December 28, 2012

high sound
from the freezed sky -
the wolf moon

Thursday, December 20, 2012

Solstice lantern

This ice-lantern built by my wife. There is a flickering candle enlightening this dim world. Today (Dec. 21st 2012 at 1.12 pm Finnish winter time) is the winter solstice.

Today also we'll get a new Mayan calendar!

ice lantern -
some more light
for winter solstice

Sunday, December 16, 2012

Globe warming

snowy morning -
two candles
warming themselves

Monday, December 03, 2012

Memory of Robert Bauer

Got a message that Robert Bauer, Shiki kukai secretary and web-master, passed away this morning (2nd Dec. 2012.)

Ps, added 30th Dec 2012:

My text for Robert from Shiki Kukai December free format section was:

left the quay -
the wake not yet
smoothed out

Sunday, December 02, 2012

Global warming?

frightened river -
snow flowing

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Second snow

We got our second snow! First one melted already away. Trying to follow the Doda Meeting and believe in Our Earth's Saving from all the bad...

Doha meeting -
green leaves
saving our earth?

Sunday, November 25, 2012

belated winter -
on an old tree
a free zone

As a bonus photo, our squirrel doesn't care what the winter is, or is not going to do.
This very same squirrel acting also in mataleena's blog:

Monday, November 19, 2012

refused by farmers
continuous rain

Saturday, November 17, 2012

Textual wonders

dark energy -
all the windows

Dark energy is a hypothetical form of energy that permeates all of space and tends to accelerate the expansion of the universe.

Gaza strip -
dark energy broke the light
through the windows

Windows is something Microsoft owns. Quite often I am using Linux.

not so quietly
world peace

This format is as a hay(na)ku. Format is not so often used?

Thursday, November 15, 2012

pulchritudinous -
a long tailed magpie
flirting with a crow

(For this I got an idea from Joseph Massey's Facebook.)

Monday, November 12, 2012


   Leafless trees waiting for the winter. 

     The winter is coming,

                 is coming?

or is it just cancelled 

a leafless wind
under a barren
dark cloud

Tuesday, November 06, 2012

Good morning!
A happy tit flying -
a good morning

Why this flying bird? At first L2 was:
"a happy pigeon flying free"...

But I did not found any flying pigeon from my albums, just a small tit...

Let's it fly then!


Here is the same bird, just before it voted:

Saturday, October 27, 2012

sleepy trees
going to hibernate?
carefree mallards

Friday, October 26, 2012

First snow # 2

slippery -
first snow
got no tyres?

First snow buried
yesterday's leaf

Monday, October 22, 2012

a black cat
an unwhining mouse

Sunday, October 21, 2012

not so eagerly waiting
for winter

Sunday, October 14, 2012

diminishing day-rays
a safe autumn

Saturday, October 13, 2012

holding up
some of its colors -
streety trees' leaves

Thursday, October 11, 2012

falling leaves
ready to go!
- assaulting autumn

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Leafy path -
a flowy river hiding
behind the trees

Tuesday, October 09, 2012

short cut
through a fallow field -
ripening windberries

Thursday, October 04, 2012

Green leaves

municipal elections -
you're voting the greens,
o maple leaf?

Municipal elections here in Finland Oct. 28th 2012. I have not yet decided who will have my vote... This green maple leaf had a slight idea? Also quite many completely red leaves around here. What's yellow leaves for?

Oracle says:

take a red pen
and vote
for greens

Sunday, September 30, 2012

autumn queue
a young maple
lined up

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

a wet path -
September days

Sunday, September 23, 2012

Resting a while -
autumnal equinox

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Maple leaf's
final solution -
this is it!

Sunday, September 16, 2012

relying upon
summer's continuity -
young maple leaves

Sorry, I think I've been busy.

            how the autumn 



Thursday, September 06, 2012

So many clouds -
plan of action

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

lazy sun,
where you've been -
southerly winds

Sunday, August 26, 2012

Sunny morning -
a sparrow trying to keep
its mouth shut

Here is one more version from my sketchbook:

Sunday morning -
i tired sparrow going
to say: "chirp?"

Saturday, August 25, 2012


August vacation -
empty mailbox got wet
in late summer rain

I took off my word verification. Let's see what's happening.

Do you remember old scandal where email-passwords "unveiled". One lonely lady heaved: "Oh no, now everyone sees that I never receice a single email..."

This next one is for Bill, I borrow it here from Bill's comment-box because I like the idea:

lonely mailbox -
tinned spam
got an off day?


More stuff around this idea:

a spy-master
short of unused stamps -
accountable profit center

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

rainy night ...
some of the old puddles
joined together

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Minima St. by Joseph Massey

Isn't that cricket

This is from Joseph Massey's chapbook Minima St. (2002).

It is now available from this address:

Last poem is:



Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Making a problem

calm night
week after my birthday
a calm morning

At 6 o'clock I walked towards Turku Central Railway station. A sunny morning. Build up a threeliner in my mind when walked:

a calm night -
now a calm morning
a week after my birthday

Rised R3 as R2, and I did not accept R3 just something like "August".

In my mind the word "calm" sounds somewhat 'cold'. Is it? Neither cool?

Anyway weather was calm. But what about a short night?

A short, calm night just a week after my birthday & now also a calm morning.

:-) If "short" then perhaps calm only once.

R3 got an "a" in front of it. And the word "short" did not succeed? Did i got a problem?

When seated in the train and a got a nice cup of coffee I wrote once more my final solution:

short night
not a week after my birthday
a calm morning

Whose problem? Approaching Helsinki, the train making 160 km/hour. We'll get a nice summer day anyway.

Monday, August 13, 2012


thickness -
the river flows
towards the Waste Seas

Label: Otagawa, Hiroshima

Sunday, August 12, 2012

freshborn barrier -
after 67 years
it will be useless?

(I got my 67th anniversary today...)

Friday, August 03, 2012

borders, neighbors

red border -
I can hear our

At first the text was:

red border -
I can hear our neighbors
having some fun

Thursday, August 02, 2012

Slightly different story:

Conquered branches
hiding the sunshine -
August's colony

Saturday, July 28, 2012

Barber's vacation

as an empty beach -
well lighted street
for alone cars

My barbershop in the right, and first door on the left is the nearest pub. Barber's vacation just now.
Low pressure -
half cup of black coffee
cooling down

Friday, July 27, 2012

Shiki July 2012

My threeliners in July 2012 Shiki Kukai, "talk"

a thicket ...

Free Format, "blue"

blue drops
on unfinished last will —
emptied ink bottle

Talkative got two points; thanks for it. Blue drops one point, which is nice, too.

Thursday, July 26, 2012

clouds drifting ...
for the sun
enough room

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

The only vanished thing
among the morning grass
is the dew

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

o snails
tough night
was it?

Saturday, July 21, 2012

trying to catch
a single sunray -
approaching rain

Friday, July 13, 2012

thrice newborn life


newborn frog
jumps towards blue sky -
the reeds


going to fly
beyond the horizon -
newborn crow


a young pigeon
did a beautiful white spot -
just like his father

# 3 also, if you prefer:
just like her father

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Another sketch for this photo:

More fingers
growing up?
A young pine.

Middle arrow
shooting a sunny day -
crow's nesting tree

Sunday, July 08, 2012

Rainy day -
did you succeed with
your family planning?

Thursday, July 05, 2012

silent forest -
in my both ears
a mosquito

Sunday, July 01, 2012

not a need
for a single koww -
sated crow

Saturday, June 30, 2012

behind the lamp post
the midnight sun

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

I'm again visiting my friends at Utsjoki. Not so often online. Returning south perhaps next weekend.

Beyond the hill
a silent
summer light

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

anyone caught
a nice nest builder

Saturday, June 09, 2012

an empty nest -
the youngster-crow already
learnt to sing

Saturday, June 02, 2012

June rain -
a grown-up earthworm
crossing the street

Sunday, May 27, 2012

old man's morning piss —
don't panic
o magpie!

(See The Shiki Kukai May 2012 Free Format section.)

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Look here! Summer
going to

Sunday, May 20, 2012

dandelion -
with evening breeze
it's getting cooler?

Friday, May 18, 2012

worn-out highway
in the middle of the day
salty holes

Sunday, May 13, 2012

a returnee -
young magpie occupied
the heftiest branch

Saturday, May 12, 2012

After a long winter we got a thundestorm! It washed away some wintry street dust...

Fifth night
after the Super Moon -
a thunderstorm!

Monday, April 30, 2012

whether to build a nest -
laughing magpie

Sunday, April 29, 2012

a young crow
building it's first nest -
a virgin maple

Saturday, April 28, 2012

those white clouds
going to build a nest,

Sunday, April 22, 2012

Early sun -
after chilly night
a happy crow

Saturday, April 21, 2012


I visited Rovaniemi at 18th April; had some meetings over there. We got a snowy day, not so cold but the snow did not melt away. This one located outside Arktikum-house is something to do with the Arktikum-Center's art, I suppose.

wintry vessel
where is the spring

Sunday, April 15, 2012

warm spring day -
asking lawn mover
how it's managing

Thursday, April 12, 2012

many good trees
for nesting -
a gull passing

Saturday, April 07, 2012

where to swim -
a warm spring

Thursday, April 05, 2012

more than ten thousand
wintry snowflakes-
now all gone!

Tuesday, April 03, 2012

a flowing river -
couple of ducks
going to nest

Saturday, March 31, 2012

I visited Kuopio. My friend was buried there. Finnish text is something like this:

path to the grave -
a returning

Saturday, March 24, 2012

Found it?
The secret

Sunday, March 18, 2012



Thawing means by Webster to go from a frozen to a liquid state


An economy crisis thawed
into bankers' pockets?
St Patrick's Day.

It was yesterday 17th March. Is it enough for a kigo?

After a classic winter - with some snow and some freezing period the nature is thawing. Snows running away from us.

from the streets -
March thaw

Thursday, March 15, 2012

The trains don't whistle anymore. I visited yesterday Helsinki for a short meeting. Got a pencil and wrote these, this one was #1:

from an old snow -
bird whistling

I did not like the word "smell". Scent? Stink? What aroma snow's got? Then #2:

old snow
ebbing away -
a black bird!

The train was late. I checked the time and got slightly nervous. When arrived at Helsinki main railway station our train was 7 minutes late! When returning later back to Turku I wrote #3:

this year
melting snows seemingly
missing the train

When I was back at home again I was not at all worried how to make yourself clear in haiku-writing.

The black bird? - Perhaps just a rapid shadow?

Tuesday, March 13, 2012

in a puddle -
melting snow

Monday, March 05, 2012


O, sunny March

Where did you come?
white snow left


and over there